Have you ever been a victim of photo piracy? [photography]

Posted: July 19, 2010 in Photography
Tags: , , ,

Back in February, I posted about watermarking and how I use this opportunity for advertising. I mentioned briefly the idea that if someone was going to steal your images, you may as well make them work for you with watermarks that are attractive and don’t get cropped out. At least then when Tight Theresa steals my images, her friends will know where they came from and hopefully get in touch. Although on second thought, do I want all her tight friends also scamming me for freebies? A subject for another day. But I digress.

I also mentioned in that post that I couldn’t believe the lengths people go to in order to steal my images and that watermarks make no difference when someone has their heart set on stealing your stuff. Ironically, it was only a couple months later that a friend many hours away called to say she’d seen some of my stuff being displayed on canvas in a printers near her. After some investigation, I found that the images (stolen off Flickr, cropped to oblivion) were being distributed on canvas by a large warehouse in this country. And they weren’t just any old images, they were four images of my son. [read]

Leave a Reply

