Heil Sound PR 48, PR 28 Pro Series Drum Mics [review]

Posted: July 1, 2010 in Audio Gear, Music, Review
Tags: , , ,

As a drummer, live musician, and regular self-recordist, my right foot has faced most every good (and not so good) kick-drum microphone out there. And while I received useable results with all those typical make and model choices over the years, I finally discovered (and subsequently bought) my current kick microphone three years ago: Heil Sound’s flagship dynamic, the PR 40.

While not advertised as a “kick drum mic” (but recommended as such among many other applications), the PR 40 sounded more natural, open, and overall better to me on kick than any of my former favorites; the PR 40 in front of a good drum in a good sounding room (with a touch of EQ) suddenly took me pretty much wherever I needed to go stylistically. [read]

Leave a Reply

