Why I Use Aperture Priority Mode [photography]

Posted: June 17, 2010 in Photography
Tags: , ,

It occurs to me [Damien Franco], as I write these articles on photography techniques, that I often instruct on what YOU should do. That’s all good and well. I mean…that’s why you’re here, presumably, to learn how YOU can get the most out of your camera.

Occasionally, however, it’s good to know what techniques, equipment, or settings that other photographers use and why.

Truth be told I probably have my camera set to aperture priority mode 95% of the time. In fact, I’m willing to bet, without looking, that my camera is set to it right now, as it’s resting on my bookshelf beside me. *checking* Yep. It is.

Aperture priority mode works for me because, as a contemporary art photographer, I much prefer to control my depth of field by dictating which f-stop to use in any given situation. I want to control how the scene looks to the viewer by controlling what is in focus and what isn’t. This allows me to guide the viewer to the focal point of the image. [read]

Leave a Reply

