Memory card maintenance questions answered

Posted: March 15, 2010 in Gadgets, I Don't Know, Photography
Tags: , , ,

A few weeks ago, I discussed the nuts and bolts of taking care of your digital camera’s memory card. Frankly, I was amazed by the amount of e-mail that this particular topic generated. I received a lot of comments and questions, so I thought I’d tackle them this week.

Old wives’ tale?

A few people questioned why it’s important to format your memory card occasionally. You’ll recall that I suggested you should format your memory card using your digital camera’s format command rather than simply deleting the photos. In fact, some photo pros format their card each and every time they are done taking a batch of photos. (I am not that much of a stickler.)

It’s really just a question of performance. Memory cards are like hard drives in that they get fragmented when you repeatedly store and erase lots of files. There’s no way to defragment a memory card, so formatting it serves that purpose. [read]

Leave a Reply

