The quality of [audio] plug-ins

Posted: February 28, 2010 in Audio Gear, Gadgets, Music
Tags: , , , , ,

When I had my morning coffee today I had a discussion someone regarding plug-ins. Having used plug-ins for quite some time now, I think it’s interesting to look back and remember how they were years ago and what they’re like now.

What I can conclude is that the quality of plug-ins in recent years is much higher than before. The last four years or so have been great for people who work with an ITB or hybrid setup. What’s even more intriguing is that I actually see a bump up in quality the last two years as well. Things are actually moving forward.

Sure, there are some oldies that are still goodies – the early McDSP and Sonnox plug-ins, for instance, still hold their own – but overall I find myself using newer and newer plug-ins all the time.

Compressors and EQ’s are better, that’s my belief despite what some say in the ongoing discussion regarding all digital EQ’s are the same (I’m working on an article for that by the way, pulling some strings today) but the quality of virtual instruments is so much higher today that it’s ridiculous. I used virtual instruments very early on, listening to them today I can only say that, well, quite frankly they suck. [read: ProTooler Blog]

Leave a Reply

