The Surprisingly Deep Benefits of Walking

Posted: December 15, 2009 in I Don't Know, Personal
Tags: , ,

Written on 12/14/2009 by Mark Harrison – Readers of my previous articles will know that I try to live as effortlessly as possible. This all started (in a conscious way, at least) when many years ago, as a teenager, I discovered the ancient Chinese idea of Wu Wei – ‘action without action’ or ‘non doing.’ The discovery came quite by accident – as most good things in life tend to happen.

I was on holiday with some friends and one day I went for a walk alone. I came across an old, second hand book shop, and as I glanced over the disordered titles, I came across a translation of the Tao Te Ching, by R. L. Wing called ‘The Tao of Power.’ The front cover described it as ‘Lao Tzu’s classic guide to leadership, influence and excellence.’ I bought the book – who knows why, – and have it on my table as I write these words. It has been a beloved companion throughout all the years since that day. [read]

Leave a Reply

